Print this page

Council of Europe

Based in Strasbourg, the Council of Europe now comprises 47 members, that is, almost all the countries of the European continent.

Created on 5 May 1949 by 10 founding members, its main goal was to create a common democratic and legal space in Europe. It is based on the European Convention on Human Rights of 4 November 1950 and other essential texts related to the protection of individual rights.

The Council of Europe comprises the following institutions:

  • Committee of Ministers
  • Parliamentary Assembly
  • Congress of Local and Regional Authorities
  • European Court of Human Rights
  • Commissioner for Human Rights
  • Conference of INGOs (International non-governmental organisations)