Print this page

European Framework


In the Amsterdam Treaty of 1997, the European Union introduced the legal mechanism to fight against all forms of discrimination in everyday life, including in the workplace, whether based on religion or belief, disability, age, sexual orientation, race or ethnic origin.

In order to enforce this legal tool, the Council of Europe approved two Directives (2000/78/EC and 2000/43/EC) that guarantee a common minimum level of legal protection across the European Union against racial discrimination or discrimination based on ethnic origin, and more specifically against discrimination in the workplace. An Action Plan supports the practical measures to be implemented across European Member States. This Action Plan namely consists in the European Community programme PROGRESS, and in the campaign 'For Diversity, Against Discrimination'.

PROGRESS, The European Community programme

PROGESS is the Community tool that supports Member States in setting up their information and awareness-raising campaigns as regards the fight against discrimination.

Raising awareness across Europe: "For Diversity, against Discrimination"

A European information and awareness-raising campaign, "For Diversity, against Discrimination", comes in support of national awareness-raising campaigns.

The campaign is led by a National Working Group in each Member State, and is made up of representatives of civil society and representatives of the ministries. It is more particularly aimed at the workplace, youth, and the general public.

The Governmental Expert Group on Non-discrimination

In July 2008, the European Commission created a governmental expert group in the field of non-discrimination and the promotion of equality. The group is in charge of advancing the legacy of the European Year of Equal Opportunities for All (2007) and of fostering the further development of its policies. The OLAI represents Luxembourg in this group.

English version  |     | Recherche avancée
Imprimer cette page

Cadre européen


L’Union européenne a introduit dans le Traité d’Amsterdam (1997), les instruments légaux pour combattre toutes les formes de discrimination fondée sur la religion ou les convictions, l'handicap, l'âge, l’orientation sexuelle, la race ou l’origine ethnique ou le sexe dans la vie de tous les jours y compris dans le monde du travail.

Pour rendre effectif cet instrument légal, le Conseil des Ministres a approuvé deux directives (2000/78/CE et 2000/43/CE) qui proposent un niveau minimal de protection légale contre les discriminations dans le monde du travail et contre la discrimination raciale ou la discrimination fondée sur l’origine ethnique en général à travers l’Union européenne. Un programme d’action soutient les efforts pratiques à mettre en oeuvre à travers les Etats membres. Ce programme d’action consiste notamment en le programme communautaire PROGRESS et la campagne « Pour la diversité, contre les discriminations ».

Le programme communautaire PROGRESS

Le programme PROGRESS est l'instrument communautaire qui soutient les Etats membres à mettre en place leur campagne d'information et de sensibilisation en matière de lutte contre les discriminations.

Campagne « Pour la diversité, contre les discriminations »

Une campagne d’information et de sensibilisation au niveau européen « Pour la Diversité, contre les Discriminations » accompagne la campagne nationale. La campagne est pilotée par un groupe de travail national composé à la fois de représentants de la société civile et de représentants de ministères. Elle vise notamment le milieu du travail, les jeunes et le grand public.

Le Groupe d’experts gouvernementaux sur la non-discrimination

En juillet 2008, la Commission européenne a créé un groupe d’experts gouvernementaux dans le domaine de la non-discrimination et de la promotion de l'égalité. Ce groupe d'experts est chargé d’exploiter les résultats de l’Année européenne de l’égalité des chances pour tous (2007) et de poursuivre les actions sur cette base. L’OLAI représente le Luxembourg dans ce groupe.