Print this page

European Commission Against Racism and Intolerance
ECRI


The European Commission Against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI) is an independent monitoring body attached to the Council of Europe on matters of human rights and specialised in the fight against racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia, anti-Semitism and intolerance.

ECRI’s main objective is to review Member States’ legislation, policies and other measures to fight against racism, xenophobia, anti-Semitism, and intolerance, to measure their effectiveness and to formulate general policy recommendations.

ECRI provides Member States with concrete and practical advice on how to tackle problems of racism and intolerance. To this end, it examines in each country the legal framework for fighting against racism and racial discrimination, its practical implementation, the existence of independent bodies to assist victims of racism, the situation of vulnerable groups in specific policy areas (education, employment, housing etc.) and the tone of political and public debate around issues relevant for these groups.

Since 1994, the ECRI has published five reports on Luxembourg, the latest of which was published in 2017.

English version  |     | Recherche avancée
Imprimer cette page

Commission européenne contre le racisme et l'intolérance
ECRI


La Commission européenne contre le racisme et l'intolérance (ECRI) est l'instance indépendante de monitoring du Conseil de l'Europe dans le domaine des droits de l'homme spécialisée dans les questions de lutte contre le racisme, la discrimination raciale, la xénophobie, l'antisémitisme et l'intolérance.

L'objectif de l'ECRI est notamment d'examiner les législations, les politiques et les autres mesures prises par les Etats membres visant à combattre le racisme, la xénophobie, l'antisémitisme et l'intolérance ainsi que leur efficacité et de formuler des recommandations de politique générale à leur égard.

L'ECRI donne aux Etats membres des conseils concrets sur la manière de faire face aux problèmes de racisme et d'intolérance.
A cette fin, elle examine dans chaque pays le cadre juridique de lutte contre le racisme et la discrimination raciale, son application pratique, l'existence d'organes indépendants chargés d'aider les victimes du racisme, la situation des groupes vulnérables dans des domaines d'action donnés (éducation, emploi, logement, etc.) et le ton du débat politique et public sur des questions concernant ces groupes.

Depuis 1994, l'ECRI a publié trois rapports sur le Luxembourg, dont le dernier en 2006.